ALL FEARS WILL DIE

Jean Akinyi shares her thoughts preparing to leave Kenya for the first time for the Kenyatta University/University of Cincinnati Exchange.
There is that look that someone gives you that makes you know you are special. And then there is that look that the same person gives you that makes you look back and think…”this person is special”.

More times than I can count, I have been the recipient of the second look. And I, at that moment feel like a miner looking for the core of the element. I dig and dig through the rubble until I find, however small, the very precious and untarnished seed deep within. It is always with pleasure  when I prove myself right, time and again, that the outer covering may have been filled with impurities; and that there is always that serene, beautiful and priceless piece inside that remains untouched by the environment.

This trip that is only four days away, is one of those times. One of the times I looked into the eyes of my traveling companions and saw the challenge. The challenge that they are indeed special in their own unique ways. That they have that inner part that has remained untarnished by the world they interacted with. These are people you would rather experience than read about; because mere reading will not make you see the pure gold that the miner is after.

IMG_9093

When I look at them all fears will die and I will be ready for the journey ahead of us. Because I will be with them. Because I excavated and found that part that reassures me that among them I will be like I truly am. I will be alright. I will be myself.

Everyone has that thing that makes them special. All you need to do is experience it.
                                 Dedicated to Dr. Zippy, Christine, Austin, David, Eric and Kelvinson
Guest Contributor: JEAN AKINYI
This entry was published on October 27, 2015 at 12:32 am and is filed under Culture, People. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

