AND . . . ACTION

13 March

IMG_7994

Today a short student film was shot in my home.All of the students involved in the shoot were undergraduates in my Stage Directing course so I was happy to open my home on Malawi Close to them for their film project.

IMG_7982

I got to be a location scout, a props master, a set decorator, and a continuity consultant. I enjoyed myself immensely. It was a perfect way to spend a day on strike. The students spent four hours in my home and I loved watching them work. Filming is always a case of ‘hurry up and wait’, and I loved watching them problem solve and make decisions to keep moving their short film forward.

IMG_7986

I loved when they did a shot with a camera in my refrigerator. They did a shot at my kitchen sink with an actress washing dishes. My water stopped running during the second take.

IMG_7991

They planned to do a shot where a glass was smashed three times and were so happy with the first take that they only needed to smash one glass.

IMG_8016

I loved moving around my home and visiting with various students executing their jobs inside and out.

IMG_7981

It was an exciting day on Malawi Close.

IMG_7989

This entry was published on March 14, 2014 at 6:53 am. It’s filed under People, Teaching and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

