THE POWER OF POWER

26 February

I love my surge protector extension cord. It is universal, and since I see it every day in front of me as I type, I thought I would share it with you. It is not American. It is adaptable. It has three different devices plugged into it, each using different plugs. I have my black phone adapter plug with the Kenyan rounded end plug, my iPad plug with the American two prongs, and the large 3 prong British adaptor for my laptop, since the extension won’t take an American 3 prong grounded plug. Got it? In the US we use 120 volts and here you get double- 240 volts. What does that mean? I don’t know. I just plug everything in and I am golden. Understanding electricity is way beyond me.

Isn’t electricity a marvel? However, it is not a marvel when it doesn’t exist. I am typing on my computer in another black-out wearing my nerdy headlamp like an American in Africa watching my computer battery quickly diminish.

As a result, that is all I have to say tonight. Power up!

IMG_7773

This entry was published on February 26, 2014 at 6:19 am. It’s filed under Culture, Random Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

