ACCEPTANCE

23 February

My wise friend Diana gave me the following advice yesterday: “Let your stillness be FULL of awareness.” Despite my restless sleep and agitated musings, I decided to go for a walk with no goal yesterday, combating my desire for urgency with a walk to no where. I walked for three hours.

How dare I complain about anything? Look what I discovered, experienced, and witnessed.

I got close to my ibis.

IMG_7626

I watched a sporting event on campus for people with disabilities.

IMG_7628

I watched this tall man working on the roof of new housing construction as I walked along the highway outside of campus. I will always be fascinated by seeing scaffolding made out of whole small trees.

IMG_7644

I visited with this man as he worked on butchering whole chickens at the side of the road.

IMG_7649

I saw a poinsettia flowering in its natural habitat at the side of the road, far away from any thoughts of Christmas or church altars. A butterfly joined me in appreciating the bright red flower.

IMG_7653

This young man stopped and asked me to take his photo. So I did.

IMG_7655

As I walked along the other side of the highway toward the crossover bridge on my return (I don’t run across 6 lanes of busy highway like a Kenyan yet) the most amazing thing happened. Four women came out of the brush right in front of me carrying huge loads of I’m not sure what on their backs/heads, all four wearing skirts, all four obscured from view by the size of their loads. They walked faster than I did.

IMG_7660

This tree made me stop. I used to play Zoo Tycoon, a video game taught to me by my nephews, where the goal was to build an imaginary zoo. This must be an acacia tree, or at least it reminds me of the Zoo Tycoon acacia tree that I needed to place in the pens to make the giraffes happy. This is definitely an African tree.

IMG_7665

From the crossover bridge I had a great view, so I paused and watched. I watched school children in uniforms, released from Saturday classes, playing below me. Hanging out is more fun than going home.

IMG_7671

As I ended my walk back on campus three hours later I saw laundry drying in the sun in the back of every dorm. All students do their own laundry by hand and the laundry lines are full seven days a week. Like waiting for a dryer in an American dorm, waiting for room on the line is a constant challenge. The perfect solution? Dry your laundry on the barbed wire fence. Then you don’t need clothespins.

IMG_7690

I don’t need urgency right now.

This entry was published on February 23, 2014 at 8:35 am. It’s filed under Culture, Food, People, Places and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

