MAGICARONI DINO AND CHEESE

3 February

I was asked by Alex Bitterman to take photos inside the grocery store next time I was there due to his interest in graphic design. He is always interested in the way things look. This past week I shopped at the rival to Nakumatt : Uchumi. My vote? Nakumatt wins!

Here is butter. I love butter. Everything can be improved with a little butter. Make sure you never run out of butter. Kenyan butter is good. Irish butter is best. Kenyan butter is very good.

IMG_6912

Here are sausages. They are called Boer Sausages. I bought them for the first time because they looked different. The Boer Wars were fought in the 1880’s in South Africa and they were brutal. That is all I know of a Boer. My favorite sausages are called Safari Sausages. I always choose pork.

IMG_6911

Nakumatt has nothing like boxed Kraft Macaroni and Cheese, so I was excited to be in Uchumi, where I had spotted boxed macaroni and cheese in 2011 when it was spotted by Mikayla Stanley. I was hoping they still had it. I craved cheap comfort food.

This is what I found.

IMG_6929

Magicaroni Dino and Cheese made by Magic Time. Hmmm . . . . It is boxed in Miami. We shall see. I bought two boxes. Will it be magic?

And then? And then I was asked to stop taking pictures. No picture taking in Uchumi. Rats. Perhaps they thought I was a rival informant.

I will try to take some photos at Nakumatt.

This entry was published on February 3, 2014 at 9:51 am. It’s filed under Culture, Food, People, Places and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “MAGICARONI DINO AND CHEESE

  1. Hahaha. I just imagine the conversation. “Sir, could you please not spy on our boxed-foods isle?” This makes me want to go to Kroger, wearing a Wal-Mart shirt and start taking pictures of their Velveeta supply.

  2. alexbitterman on said:

    This is outstanding, Richard! I love to peruse the aisles at any grocery store. You learn so much that way (what to eat, what not to eat, some of the local language, etc.) I have this long-standing tradition of taking pictures of Tide laundry detergent and sending them to my mom when I travel. Amazingly, Tide is almost universally available. Thanks for the pictures and for the post! It made my day. 🙂

    • I have never seen TIDE. But I will try to do a shot of the UOMO display. Laundry detergent is for hand washing. I did see a cereal that said Proctor and Allan at the top, which felt like a Proctor and Gamble attempt by someone.

Leave a Reply

