NOT JUST A NUMBER

29 January

There are more than 7 billion people on this planet.

There are more than 313 million Americans.

There are around 1,100 US Fulbright Scholars this year, working around the world in almost every country on the planet.

There are more than 43 millions Kenyans.

There is one US Fulbright Scholar working in the Theatre Arts and Film Production Department at Kenyatta University in Nairobi, Kenya.

The median age of the US population is 37. Half of the US population is older than 37 (me) and half the population is younger than 37.

The median age of the Kenyan population is 18. Half of the Kenyan population is older than 18 and half the population is younger than 18.

Kenya is a very young country. Its youth are its future. Half of the population is 18 or younger. Imagine! Everyone looks young to me. Seeing someone my age anywhere on campus is not just a rarity; I feel like an oddity.

These are the faces of Kenya’s future, young artists studying theatre and film hopefully and passionately and fearfully and bravely. Our future is in good hands. Look at these beautiful faces making work together today in my directing/acting class. I hope the lessons learned will take them far and wide in many directions on many career paths. They will define their own successes. I admire their bravery and their joy.

Austine

Austine

Peris

Peris

Bryan

Bryan

Tessa

Tessa

Levis

Levis

Christine

Christine

Reuben

Reuben

Phoebe

Phoebe

After working together as artists today I know these 8 young Kenyans. Now you do as well. They are not just a number.

This entry was published on January 29, 2014 at 11:22 am. It’s filed under People, Teaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “NOT JUST A NUMBER

  1. I know those people!!!!! 4 of them anyway.

    You’ll find more pleasant (artsy …or is it artistic) surprises by young people outside the campus too.

  2. Betsy Bressette on said:

    Rich, I have so enjoyed all your posts so far. You write so beautifully. Sometimes I can picture myself there. I think this is one of my favorites. Such beautiful faces! No doubt you are doing great things! Be well, Betsy

Leave a Reply

