Little Shop of Horrors

11 January

There is a plant on Malawi Close that scares me. I feel chills when I see it. It is recognizable, like a plant you would see in a small container in America, but here in Africa it is more than 6 feet tall and 4 feet wide. It is so out of scale, so over-sized, that it feels like it could grab me and devour me.

IMG_6560

It is elegant and violent. The arms are stiff and succulent, a plant that stores water. It has serrated edges, like teeth.

This plant makes me cross the street.

This entry was published on January 11, 2014 at 11:36 am. It’s filed under Random Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Little Shop of Horrors

  1. Looks like an agave we have in Texas and from which tequila is made. I LIKE this plant. But, yes, the scale is stunning (at first).

  2. Rachel on said:

    Don’t be afraid, Richard…I promise you they don’t become animated. : )

  3. JONATHAN SILVER on said:

    “FEED ME, RICHARD. FEED ME ALL NIGHT LONG.”

Leave a Reply

