It Begins

I depart for Kenya for five months as a Fulbright Scholar on January 2, 2014. I have been teaching since 1983 when I began my teaching career as a high school English teacher at Williamsville East High School in Buffalo, New York. For the second sabbatical of my teaching career I aimed high, inspired by my friend and former student Michael Littig who was a Fulbright Scholar in Mongolia and my brother Daniel B. Hess who was a Fulbright Scholar in Estonia. The world beckons.

IMG_2736

This entry was published on November 29, 2013 at 7:58 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “It Begins

  1. Diana Maria Riva on said:

    My dear Mentor and Compadre….I am in awe of you.. My eyes brim with tears of sheer joy for you. I can not think of anyone , ANYONE, more deserving than you of this unbelievable adventure. Thank you for keeping a digital journal. I look forward to hearing and seeing your adventure. HAVE AN AMAZING TIME!!!!
    Love
    Diana Uhlenbrock Riva

    • Thank you dear Diana. I am writing this on my 4th day in Kenya. It is overwhelming. I am sitting in my office, a 10 by 10 foot room with a steel desk and a steel chair, with lace curtains blowing in the warm air coming through the security-barred windows.The students arrive this week and I begin teaching next week. It is all new, the perspective jarring, the sights and sounds new everywhere I turn. Wishing you a fantastic 2014! Thank you for following my journey.
      Love, Richard

Leave a Reply

